Roommate wanted for 2bd, 2ba home in Blenman-Elm near campus/UMC furnished/utilities included $600

Roommate wanted for 2bd, 2ba home in Blenman-Elm near campus/UMC furnished/utilities included $600

Final-year doctoral candidate in planetary sciences looking for roommate for a 2 bed, 2 bath house in Blenman-Elm, close to UMC/University of Arizona.  House is furnished and utilities are included for $600/month. Available May 1, 2021.

House is furnished with solid wood furniture and the floors were replaced in 2017 with luxury vinyl planking (no carpet!).  Bedroom is ~12' x 14' (~170 sqft) with east- and south-facing windows and a decent-sized closet.  Bathroom is not attached to the room, but it's large and recently rennovated, with a giant vanity, storage cabinets, bathtub and skylight. There's a queen-sized bed and frame, armoire and bedside tables/drawers.

The house is in generally good shape and well cared for, with landscaped front and back yards, the latter perfect for gardening and entertaining. There is framed art in every room in the house, a couch and a loveseat in the living room, and a dining room table in the kitchen where there's an electric stove/range, microwave, and original ~1950s tile on the counter surrounding the sink. The kitchen has plates, silverware, cookware and cooking utensils.

Laundry (washer + dryer + laundry line + rack) is included.  Ample storage for bikes in the garage (garage space is presently rented to Desert Harvesters to store their mesquite pod flour mill).  Back yard has outdoor seat, tons of desert plants and trees, a compost bin, and space for gardening.  (Brown outdoor seating by the red wall in the photo leaves at the end of March.). One or two cats are okay; I'd prefer not to live with dogs.

A little about me: I'm 35, use she/her pronouns, and appreciate cats (but don't have any). I like hiking, road biking, sewing (400+ masks in the last year), knitting\ and creating community. I've had both vaccine doses and haven't been into a grocery store in Tucson since March 2020, or into a friend's house, or a restaurant, etc. My social life now involves a twice-weekly crafting groups on Zoom, weekly workout class over video, socially distant walks with friends while masked, and sitting very far apart in the yard with other vaccinated friends to eat a meal. I look forward to having friends over inside the house, driving with them to go hiking, going out to dinner with people in my department, or traveling for work, but it's going to be a long while before I'm comfortable doing these things.  

This house is perfect for a newly arrived postdoc or researcher or graduate student without much furniture. There's storage space for extra stuff, so if you are coming from an unfurnished place you may be able to find places for you things! It would be great if you'd be up for small home improvement projects/repairs as the landlady appreciates our taking responsibility for things around the house in exchange for the rent not increasing. 

Contact: roommate@sondy.com or 520-477-7186

Longer Craigslist ad:
https://tucson.craigslist.org/roo/d/tucson-room-in-bd-ba-house-with/7286468154.html

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

Marshall Building, Suite 100. 845 N. Park Ave., Tucson, AZ 85719 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121

Feedback University Privacy Statement 

2021 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona