Awards & Accolades

Awards & Accolades

By University Communications
Printer-friendly version Send by email PDF version
Barbara Carrapa
Barbara Carrapa
Mary P. Koss
Mary P. Koss
Peter G. DeCelles
Peter G. DeCelles

Congratulations to these recently honored employees.

Carrapa Elected Fellow of Geological Society of America

Geosciences professor Barbara Carrapa has been elected a fellow of the Geological Society of America in recognition of distinguished contributions to the geosciences.

Carrapa was nominated "for her impressive publication record and her major contributions on understanding rock uplift and her integrative regional tectonics approach to understanding mountain belts."

Carrapa – whose projects span the globe, from the Andes and the Alps to Tibet and Nepal – was elected at the GSA's annual meeting in April.

Koss Honored With International Advancement of Psychology Award

Mary P. Koss, Regents' Professor of Health Promotion Sciences and Psychology, was selected to receive the 2017 American Psychological Association Award for International Advancement of Psychology.

Koss received the award in recognition of her research, consultation and advocacy on sexual violence against women and girls, which has contributed to the integration of women's rights as an integral part of human rights. Koss has facilitated important and lasting change in the conduct of research and in systematic programs both to reduce sexual violence and to respond appropriately to victims. She has shared her expertise and guidance worldwide and has made an enduring national and international impact.

In 2000, Koss received the APA's Award for Distinguished Contributions to Research in Public Policy.

DeCelles to Receive 2018 Pettijohn Medal for Sedimentology

Geosciences professor Peter G. DeCelles has been selected to receive the 2018 Francis J. Pettijohn Medal for Sedimentology, which is awarded by the Society for Sedimentary Geology for career "excellence in sedimentology."

DeCelles, who joined the UA in 1993, focuses on the origins of major mountain belts and associated sedimentary basins.

He will be presented with the medal at the society's national meeting in May. The medal is named after a longtime professor at Johns Hopkins University who made many fundamental contributions in the fields of physical sedimentology and sedimentary petrology.

Three From UA Elected Fellows of Association for Psychological Science

Psychology professors Jeff Stone and A.J. Figueredo and associate professor Erika Lawrence have been elected fellows of the Association for Psychological Science.

Fellow status is awarded to APS members "who have made sustained outstanding contributions to the science of psychology in the areas of research, teaching, service and/or application." While usually awarded for scientific contributions, it also may be awarded for "exceptional contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings."

The new fellows were named in May.

We want to know about your good news. If you, your team or a colleague has won any major awards, been honored nationally or internationally, or accomplished some other major feat that deserves recognition, let us know about it.

To submit your news, please send us an email with the following information:

  • Name of the person, team or unit receiving the honor with full UA titles.
  • Information about the award/honor and the organization that granted it. Please include a link to the official announcement of the award/honor.
  • When the honor was announced and when it will be presented (or was presented).
  • A photo of the honoree. If others appear in the photo, please provide their names and identifying information, such as their UA title or other affiliation.

Questions? Contact Lo Que Pasa at

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

888 N. Euclid Ave., Ste. 413 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121


2019 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona