Awards & Accolades

Awards & Accolades

By University Communications
Printer-friendly version Send by email PDF version
Esther Sternberg
Esther Sternberg
Jane Carrington
Jane Carrington
Kate Sheppard
Kate Sheppard
Bruce Wright
Bruce Wright
Lynne Wood Dusenberry
Lynne Wood Dusenberry
Perry Gilmore
Perry Gilmore

Congratulations to these recent honorees.

Sternberg Appointed Chair of National Library of Medicine Board of Regents

Esther Sternberg, director of research at the UA Center for Integrative Medicine, has been appointed chair of the National Library of Medicine's Board of Regents.

Sternberg is founding director of the UA Institute on Place and Wellbeing, a professor in the College of Medicine – Tucson, and a member of the UA Arthritis Center.

Founded in 1836, the National Library of Medicine is one of the world's largest biomedical libraries, and produces web-based information services for scientists and health care professionals. Sternberg is renowned for her discoveries in brain-immune interactions, the effects of the brain's stress response on health, and the environment's role in well-being.

Sternberg, who has been involved with the National Library of Medicine for more than 20 years, has served on the board since 2014. She was appointed chair in August.

Carrington, Sheppard Inducted as American Academy of Nursing Fellows

Two College of Nursing faculty members have been inducted as fellows in the American Academy of Nursing, one of the field's highest honors.

Jane Carrington, an associate professor of nursing and assistant professor of cognitive science, and Kate Sheppard, a clinical associate professor of nursing, were inducted at the academy's annual meeting and conference on Oct. 7 in Washington, D.C.

Fellows are chosen by leading experts in the field, and must have made significant contributions to nursing and health care, including influencing health policies.

Carrington, known for innovative teaching methods, is a nationally recognized expert in nursing informatics and health care technology. She was inducted as a fellow into the Western Academy of Nurses in 2016. Carrington is conducting a three-year study to increase patient safety through improving nurse-to-nurse communication and developed a method to analyze data in patients' electronic health records and trigger alerts to warn of events that could cause unexpected deaths.

Sheppard once worked as a mobile intensive care nurse, family nurse practitioner and educator in rural northeast California, where she developed regional educational programs for fire departments, prehospital providers and nurses. She also helped secure grants to improve life-support equipment, including on ambulances, and her work brought the area's patient care standard from basic stabilization to highly skilled care delivered by paramedics and mobile intensive care nurses.

With funding from the American Nurse Practitioner Fund and the UA College of Nursing Laurence B. Emmons Research Award, Sheppard created a program in the Doctor of Nursing Practice curriculum to help nurses combat compassion fatigue.

Carrington and Sheppard join 16 other American Academy of Nursing fellows at the College of Nursing.

Wright, Dusenberry Named Greater Tucson Leadership's 2017 Man and Woman of Year

Bruce Wright, associate vice president of Tech Parks Arizona, and Lynne Wood Dusenberry, retired senior deputy general counsel for the UA, have been named the 2017 Man and Woman of the Year by Greater Tucson Leadership. The pair will be honored at a gala on Feb. 3.

The awards are given to people who have distinguished themselves for active support of community projects, demonstrated excellence in leadership, and who are a source of positive influence and inspiration for others.

Wright's nomination letter cites his more than 30 years at the UA working with government officials and business leaders to develop and implement an economic development vision for the Tucson region. Wright was "instrumental" in bringing technology clusters to Pima County and "has put in countless volunteer hours inspiring others and building a better future for Tucson. Bruce exhibits a vision and perseverance to pursue initiatives and projects that will improve the region," the letter says.

Dusenberry's nomination letter notes her significant philanthropic work, including leadership roles with United Way of Tucson and Southern Arizona and Angel Charity for Children.

"Clearly, she is a person who is known to possess outstanding communication and problem-solving skills and is time and time again called upon to serve as a team builder and manager," the letter says of Dusenberry, who worked at the UA for more than 30 years. "Those who have an opportunity to work with Lynne highlight her strong ethics, honesty, confidence and creativity."

Gilmore Awarded for Work in Anthropology Education

Perry Gilmore, professor in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Sociocultural Studies and the Department of Second Language Acquisition and Teaching, was awarded the 2016 George and Louise Spindler Award from the Council on Anthropology and Education. The council, a section of the American Anthropological Association, works to promote social equity through anthropological research.

The award recognizes ongoing contributions in educational anthropology from researchers or practitioners who have been distinguished, exemplary or inspirational in the field.

Gilmore's nomination characterized her body of work as "significant, ongoing, distinguished, exemplary and inspirational."

Gilmore has been at the UA since 2000.

Arizona Public Media and KUAT Win Four Rocky Mountain Emmys

Journalists with Arizona Public Media and KUAT, Tucson's Public Broadcasting Service affiliate, took home four Emmy awards from the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The awards were presented Oct. 14.

Regional Emmys recognize excellence in local TV news across a variety of categories. The award-winning stories and the people behind them were:

"Restoring DeGrazia" (Arts/Entertainment – Program Feature-Segment) – Andrew Brown, producer, Steve Riggs, senior videographer and editor, and Sandra Westdahl, senior videographer and editor.

"Camp Bravo" (Societal Concerns – Program) – Mitchell Riley, senior videotape editor, Westdahl, and Cody Sheehy, video coordinator in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

"Beyond the Mirage: The Future of Water in the West" (Documentary – Topical) – Sheehy, CALS, and the Arizona Water Resources Research Center.

"Michelle's Story" (Informational/Instructional) – Tom Kleespie, senior producer for special projects, and Robert Lindberg, senior videographer.

We want to know about your good news. If you, your team or a colleague has won any major awards, been honored nationally or internationally, or accomplished some other major feat that deserves recognition, let us know about it.

To submit your news, please send us an email with the following information:

  • Name of the person, team or unit receiving the honor with full UA titles.
  • Information about the award/honor and the organization that granted it. Please include a link to the official announcement of the award/honor.
  • When the honor was announced and when it will be presented (or was presented).
  • A photo of the honoree. If others appear in the photo, please provide their names and identifying information, such as their UA title or other affiliation.

Questions? Contact Lo Que Pasa at

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

888 N. Euclid Ave., Ste. 413 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121


2018 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona