Awards and Accolades

Awards and Accolades

By University Communications
Printer-friendly version Send by email PDF version
Israel J. Wygnanski (Photo by AIAA)
Israel J. Wygnanski (Photo by AIAA)
Ricardo Valerdi
Ricardo Valerdi
Joseph Alpert, Daniel Derksen, Joe G.N. "Skip" Garcia
Joseph Alpert, Daniel Derksen, Joe G.N. "Skip" Garcia
Shane Snyder
Shane Snyder

Congratulations to these recently honored employees.

Israel J. Wygnanski Presents Dryden Lecture in Research

Israel J. Wygnanski, professor of aerospace and mechanical engineering, presented the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Dryden Lecture in Research on Jan. 10. The lecture "emphasizes the great importance of basic and applied research to the advancement in aeronautics and astronautics and is a salute to research scientists and engineers," according to the AIAA. Wygnanski's research expertise spans from aerodynamics to aeroacoustics like jet noise and cavity noise to control of turbulent mixing.

Engineering Professor Inducted Into Academy of Engineering of Mexico

Ricardo Valerdi, associate professor of systems and industrial engineering, was inducted Jan. 9 into the Academy of Engineering of Mexico for his contributions in academia and the public and private sectors. Valerdi is one of only 25 academy members living in the U.S. He is an expert in cost estimation, which applies the tools of mathematics – statistics, optimization, simulation and mathematical modeling – to streamline procedures, increase efficiency and minimize risk in organizations. To read more about Valerdi, click here.

Three From UA Named to National Telemedicine Showcase Advisory Board

Three UA faculty members have been appointed to the national advisory board for the third national Telemedicine and Telehealth Service Provider Showcase, which brings together companies that provide medical specialty services through telemedicine technology with hospitals and health care providers. Dr. Joseph Alpert, professor of medicine in the College of Medicine – Tucson, Dr. Daniel Derksen, director of the Arizona Center for Rural Health, and Dr. Joe G.N. "Skip" Garcia, professor of medicine, will join the 25-member board, whose members are nationally recognized as thought leaders, health care innovators and champions who have made major contributions in telemedicine. The showcase will be held Oct. 2-3 in Phoenix. Click here to see the full list of board members.

Professor Receives Award From Agilent Technologies

Shane Snyder, professor in the Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, was honored with the 2017 Agilent Thought Leader Award on Jan. 4 in recognition of his work to ensure a clean and sustainable water supply for future generations. The honor comes with a monetary award and microarray equipment for Snyder to use with students in his lab. The Agilent Thought Leader Award promotes fundamental scientific advancements in research of importance to Agilent by contributing financial support, products and expertise to selected individuals. More information on the award and Snyder's work can be found on the College of Engineering website.

We want to know about your good news. If you, your team or a colleague has won any major awards, been honored nationally or internationally, or accomplished some other major feat that deserves recognition, let us know about it.

To submit your news, please send us an email with the following information:

  •  Name of the person, team or unit receiving the honor.
  •  Name of the organization granting the honor.
  •  A description of the honor.
  •  When the honor was announced and when it will be presented (or was presented).
  •  A photo of the honoree. If others appear in the photo, please provide their names and affiliations.

Questions? Contact Amy Williams at 626-4407 or

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

888 N. Euclid Ave., Ste. 413 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121


2018 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona