Campus Community Invited to Ceremony Celebrating Regents Professors, Distinguished Faculty

Campus Community Invited to Ceremony Celebrating Regents Professors, Distinguished Faculty

By Andy OberUniversity Communications
Printer-friendly version PDF version

The University will honor its newest Regents Professors during an induction ceremony on Monday, Jan. 13.

The annual ceremony, which is free and open to the public, will be held at 6 p.m. in Crowder Hall at the Fred Fox School of Music.

The Regents Professor designation is the highest level of recognition given to faculty in the Arizona university system. It is awarded to full professors whose work has earned national and international distinction in teaching scholarship, research or creative work.

Two other faculty members also will be recognized. One has been named a University Distinguished Professor, an honor given to faculty members who have made sustained contributions and demonstrated outstanding commitment to undergraduate education. The other has been named a University Distinguished Outreach Faculty, an honor that recognizes faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to outreach at the University and throughout Arizona and the United States.

Videos about each honoree will be screened at the ceremony, shining a spotlight on their work and accomplishments while also providing a glimpse into their lives outside academia. Videos about previous honorees are available on a University YouTube playlist.

The honorees are:

Regents Professors

John P. Rutherfoord
Professor of Physics

Marvin J. Slepian
Professor of Medicine in Cardiology
Professor of Medical Imaging
Professor and Associate Department Head in the Department of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Member of the Sarver Heart Center and BIO5 Institute

Rod A. Wing
Bud Antle Endowed Chair in the School of Plant Sciences' Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Director of the Arizona Genomics Institute
Member of the BIO5 Institute

Lucy M. Ziurys
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Alfred S. McEwen, professor of planetary science and of geosciences, has chosen to be recognized at the 2021 induction ceremony.

Read more about the honorees in this UANews article.

University Distinguished Professor

Ty A. Ferré
Professor of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences
Professor of Environmental Science

University Distinguished Outreach Faculty

Teshia G. Arambula Solomon
Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

Marshall Building, Suite 100. 845 N. Park Ave., Tucson, AZ 85719 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121

Feedback University Privacy Statement 

2020 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona