Video: Regents' Professor Hoshin Gupta

Video: Regents' Professor Hoshin Gupta

By University Communications
Printer-friendly version Send by email PDF version
Hoshin Gupta
Hoshin Gupta

During the month of April, Lo Que Pasa is highlighting the Regents' Professors, University Distinguished Professor and University Distinguished Outreach Faculty who were honored during the recent Pillars of Excellence ceremony.

Hoshin Gupta, Regents' Professor of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences, is internationally recognized as an exceptional scientist and charismatic teacher whose research with rainfall runoff studies has earned him a reputation as a world leader in watershed hydrology.

Gupta was elected fellow of the American Geophysical Union in 2009, awarded the European Geophysical Union's 2014 Dalton Medal and honored by the American Meteorological Society with the 2017 RE Horton Lecture Award.

Gupta's work is among the most cited in the field of hydrology. He has published 10 books and more than 170 peer-reviewed papers. One paper has been cited more than 1,500 times. Google Scholar citations of his work total more than 27,000.

Also a professor of systems analysis in the Department of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences, Gupta has been selected by students for the department's annual award for teaching excellence on five separate occasions. He was recognized by the UA with the 2014-2015 Graduate College Graduate and Professional Education Teaching and Mentoring Award.

Gupta earned a doctorate from Case Western Reserve University in Ohio, and came to the UA in 1983.

"I think teaching is more of a mentoring process, really," Gupta says. "It's helping students to acquire the kind of information that they need in order to then be able to contribute to the scientific endeavor."

Find out more about Gupta in the video below.

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

888 N. Euclid Ave., Ste. 413 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121


2018 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona