Four Professors Honored With Superior Teaching Awards

View All

Campus Notes

Printer-friendly version PDF version

Four Professors Honored With Superior Teaching Awards

College of Humanities
December 11, 2018

The Humanities Seminars Program honored four UA professors with the annual Ted and Shirley Taubeneck Superior Teaching Award. 

Fabian AlfieBruce ChamberlainJerry Hogle and Bella Vivante were honored at the November ceremony. They are the first recipients since the HSP Superior Teaching Awards were named in honor of longtime HSP students and Ted and Shirley Taubeneck. 

Professor Fabian Alfie of the Department of French and Italian received an award for his course Dante's INFERNO. Professor Emeritus Bruce Chamberlain of the Fred Fox School of Music was honored for his course Igor Stravinsky's Four Russian Ballets: Up Close and Personal. Professor Emeritus Jerry Hogle of the Department of English was recognized for his course The Romantic Poets: Revolution and Retrospection. Classics Professor Emerita Bella Vivante won an award for her course Homer’s ODYSSEY.

HSP students choose the outstanding teachers, who receive monetary awards. These stipends come from the Humanities Seminars Endowment for Superior Teaching established in 1985 by founders of the program. This year's awards bring to $272,000 the total payments to the UA faculty from this endowment.

The University of Arizona's premier lifelong learning series, the Humanities Seminars Program was founded in 1984 and offers the highest-quality courses in letters, arts, and sciences designed specifically for adult students. All courses are taught by present and former University of Arizona professors selected for their scholarly accomplishments and exceptional teaching abilities.

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

Marshall Building, Suite 100. 845 N. Park Ave., Tucson, AZ 85719 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121

Feedback University Privacy Statement 

2020 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona