Nominations for the 2017-2018 Inclusive Excellence Awards

View All

Campus Notes

Printer-friendly version PDF version

Nominations for the 2017-2018 Inclusive Excellence Awards

Office for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence
January 31, 2018

The deadline for nominations is March 12 for the 2017-2018 Inclusive Excellence Awards for Students, Staff, and Programs and the Richard Ruiz Diversity Leadership Faculty Award.

The annual Peter W. Likins Inclusive Excellence Awards were established to recognize students, staff, and programs that enhance the UA through their inclusive programing and leadership. Award nominees who are selected have made a significant contribution toward creating a diverse and inclusive community through one or more of the following:

  • Embedding diversity and inclusiveness into an institutional aspect of the UA (e.g., policy, procedure, tradition, vision statement, curriculum, etc.),
  • Recruitment and retention of an excellent and diverse faculty, staff, or student body,
  • Fostering equality of opportunity within our campus community,
  • Encouraging diverse perspectives and intergroup interaction on our campus,
  • Creating a welcoming and supportive campus climate through efforts such as visibility, communication and education, and
  • Other areas critical to establishing inclusive excellence at the University of Arizona.

In 2015, a new faculty award was created: the Richard Ruiz Diversity Leadership Faculty Award. This award honors Professor Richard Ruiz's many contributions to making the University of Arizona a better, more inclusive campus. In fact, he was awarded the Inclusive Excellence Award in 2009 for his tireless work supporting and advocating for diversity and cross-cultural understanding. Reflecting upon Professor Ruiz's decades of contributions to diversity leadership, former President Peter Likins praised his "exceptional … devotion to the UA diversity programs and their underlying values."

To better recognize and support diversity efforts across campus, all awards come with a $500 professional development stipend.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 12 at 5:00 p.m. Information on the nomination guidelines can be found here.

Awards recipients will be honored during a special evening reception on Thursday, April 12.


UA@Work is produced by University Communications

Marshall Building, Suite 100. 845 N. Park Ave., Tucson, AZ 85719 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121

Feedback University Privacy Statement 

2020 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona