Responsibility Centered Management Budget Model – RCM2

View All


Printer-friendly version PDF version

Responsibility Centered Management Budget Model – RCM2

To: Campus Community


Andrew Comrie, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs & Provost

Milton Castillo, Senior Vice President for Business Affairs & CFO

Subject: Responsibility Centered Management Budget Model – RCM2

Date: January 18, 2013

We are writing to follow up on the memorandum issued to the community by President Hart on December 12th regarding the RCM2 project. We are pleased that the President has asked us jointly to lead this effort and are enthusiastic about the potential benefits a new budget model can bring to the entire institution. This is the first of many periodic updates we plan to provide throughout the process.

To begin, we are pleased to announce the formation of the RCM2 Steering Committee, which will hold its first meeting later this month. President Hart has articulated four guiding principles for the Committee’s work; namely that a new budget model should 1) encourage behaviors by faculty and staff that fully align with the institution’s mission and strategic priorities, 2) be as simple as possible to facilitate broad-based understanding and efficient administration, 3) produce results that are widely perceived as rational, fair, and consistent with institutional values, and 4) be governed in its use by strong oversight mechanisms to ensure it is used wisely.

The President has asked the Committee to submit to her in due course a Report and Recommendations that address the full range of issues associated with a change of this nature. Specifically, the recommendations should include:

  • Definition of the RCM Units on a principled basis,
  • Articulation of the components and rules for allocating revenue and expense in the model,
  • Establishment of new governance mechanisms as needed , and/or assignment of governance responsibilities to existing bodies,
  • Creation of testing and implementation plans and associated timeframes designed to minimize transitional disruption, and
  • Development of a process and cycle for periodic review and refinement of the model.

The Steering Committee is expected to 1) establish subcommittees to focus on key subject areas to include groups from outside the Steering Committee, in order to further expand community input in the process, 2) develop and implement a robust communication plan that employs periodic written communication, as well as open meetings to seek feedback at sensible intervals, and 3) conduct its work on a timeframe that is as aggressive as possible without sacrificing the imperative for a thoughtful, well-vetted, and high quality outcome. As the President indicated in December, a tentative timeframe would call for completion of the Steering Committee Report in the Fall of 2013.

We are grateful to each of the following individuals for their willingness to serve in this important role. We look forward to working with them, and with approximately 60 others who will serve on subcommittees in this effort. We are committed to leading an open and thoughtful process that is accessible to all interested members of the university community.

Steering Committee Members

Co-Chair - Milton Castillo, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Business Affairs
Co-Chair - Andrew Comrie, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Zachary Brooks, President, Graduate and Professional Student Council
Meg Lota Brown, Professor of English
Gail Burd, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Shane Burgess, Vice Provost & Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Elliott Cheu, Associate Dean, College of Science
Anne Cress, Deputy Dean for Research and Academic Affairs, College of Medicine
Vincent Del Casino, Associate Dean, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Leslie Eldenburg, Professor of Accounting, Eller College
Caroline Garcia, Associate Vice President for Research
Paulo Goes, Department Head, Management Information Systems
Ron Marx, Dean, College of Education
Norma Mendoza-Denton, Associate Professor, School of Anthropology
Katy Murray, President, Associated Student of the University of Arizona
J.C. Mutchler, Secretary of the Faculty & Chair, SPBAC
Lisa Ordonez, Professor of Management & Organization Levine Family Faculty Fellow and Marketing
Michael Proctor, Vice President, Regional Devel, Outreach & Global Init and Dean, Outreach College
Lisa Rulney, Assistant Dean, Finance and Administration, College of Engineering
Melissa Vito, Vice President for Student Affairs

Steering Committee Staff

Jim Florian, Associate Vice President, Institutional Analysis
Rick Kroc, Associate Vice Provost, Office of Institutional Research and Planning
Rick Sears, Associate Director, Enrollment Research
Kathy Whisman, Assistant Vice President, Budget Office


Undergraduate Revenue (revenue distribution and financial aid)
Graduate Revenues (revenue distribution and financial aid)
Differential Tuition/Summer Session (revenue distribution)
Research/Sponsored and Indirect Cost Recovery (revenue and cost distribution)
Outreach/Online Programs (revenue and cost distribution)
Auxiliaries/Student Fees/Other Revenues (revenue and cost distribution)
Facilities and Space (cost distribution)
Institutional Overhead Cost Centers, General Admin, Strategic Investments (cost distribution)
State General Fund Appropriation and units with specific appropriations/tuitions (AHS, Ag, UA South)

We hope to finalize subcommittee memberships in the coming week.

UA@Work is produced by University Communications

Marshall Building, Suite 100. 845 N. Park Ave., Tucson, AZ 85719 (or) 
P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721

T 520.621.1877  F 520.626.4121

Feedback University Privacy Statement 

2020 © The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of the University of Arizona